Skip to Content

(785) 505-3315

Published on October 20, 2016

Nominations open for Elizabeth Watkins award

Each year, the Lawrence Memorial Hospital Endowment Association recognizes those who have provided unique and significant service to the hospital and the association.

Based on the caring spirit of philanthropist Elizabeth Miller Watkins, the Lawrence Memorial Hospital Endowment Association has created the Elizabeth Watkins Community Caring Award to celebrate those who have demonstrated a commitment to volunteerism and whose gift of time and treasure is invaluable to Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

Elizabeth Watkins Community Caring Award recipients are honored by the Endowment Association at the Annual Meeting scheduled for January 26, 2017. If you would like to nominate an individual or a business for the award, please tell us about your nominee's efforts on behalf of Lawrence Memorial Hospital by sending an email to Tiffany Hall. The nomination deadline for the 2017 award is December 1, 2016.

Here are selection criteria:

  • Individual award: Volunteer/donor who has given a significant amount of time, talent and treasure to the hospital or the endowment association.
  • Business award: Business/business owner who has given a significant amount of time, talent and treasure to the hospital or the endowment association.
  • LMH employee award: An employee who has given a significant amount of his or her time and treasure to the hospital or the endowment association and/or other community service organizations.

Here are previous winners of the Elizabeth Watkins award:


Businesses: Assists Foundation, Edmonds Duncan, Intrust and LMH Pathology

Individuals: Faye Jones, Kurt von Achen, Tandy Reussner, the Bob Moore Family, and Carol and Sherry Schaub

Employees: Margie Brummet and Gene Meyer


Businesses: Dale Willey Automotive, Lawrence Emergency Medicine Associates, Sandbar/Sandbar Subs and Sigma Nu Fraternity

Individuals: Chris Barteldes, Richard Orchard, M.D., Jackie Schmallberg, Mary Jane Grinter and Kathleen Hall

Employees: Kelly Hilmes and Greg Windholz


Businesses: Cork & Barrel (Jon and Alicia Smiley) and Ellena Honda (John and Cathy Ellena)

Individuals: Lorna Allen, Reaumur Donnally, Nancy Ezell, and Dick and Kakie Raney

Employee: Janice Seymour


Individuals: Mark Gonzales, Jim and Bonnie Schwartzburg

Businesses: O’Malley Beverage, The Write Design

Employee: Becki Carl Stutz


Individuals: Beverly Smith Billings and Dianna Nelson

Businesses: Byrnes Pharmacy, Criticare

Employee: Lew Nolan


Individuals: Dr. Phillip and Phoebe Godwin, Donna Osness

Businesses: Stan and Lois Zaremba and Scott and Darby Zaremba/Zarco, Byron Springer/Barber Emerson

Employee: Allyson Leland


Individuals: William Dann, Connie Sollars

Businesses: Lawrence Plastic Surgery, Bill and Marlene Penny/Penny’s Concrete

Employee: Betty Moles


Individuals: Don Johnston, Ron and Dorothy McGregor

Businesses: Commerce Bank, John Gladman Photography

Employee: Karin Feltman


Individuals: Ross and Marianna Beach, Joanne Hurst

Businesses: Miles Schnaer/ Crown Automotive, Dave Bach/Das Autohaus


Individuals: Bea Carlson, Jan McCullough

Businesses: Huxtable and Associates, The World Company

LMHEA High Five League

High Five League is a group of keen individuals, families and businesses who help make LMH one of the nation’s top 100 hospitals. Learn More >

Donate to LMH

Your gift of any size helps to ensure that your good works outlive you and that your hospital will remain strong for the community. Make an online donation >

Dillons Community Rewards benefit LMH cancer patient program, Catch-a-Break.

Register Your Card